Fundamentals of Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security

October 25–27, 2021 (Americas / EMEA evening)

Overview

This course provides IT security professionals and ICS/OT engineers interested in ICS/OT security with the fundamental knowledge and skills required to build and expand an ICS/OT security team.

Learners will become familiar with ICS/OT security concepts, secure architecture, threat models and ICS/ OT security standards and best practices. The course will also discuss today’s security trends and the current threat landscape. Throughout the course, exercises and demonstrations inspired by actual cases and incidents in the ICS world will enable learners to advance their knowledge in their day jobs. 

Event Information

  • LOCATION: Online
  • START DATE: October 25, 2021 
  • END DATE: October 27, 2021 
  • TIME: 8:00am–1:30pm Pacific Daylight Time, daily
    • UTC 15:00–20:30
    • 11:00am–4:30pm EDT
    • 12:00pm-5:30pm BRT
    • 4:00pm-9:30pm BST
  • COST: US$3,000 or 3 EOD units

Expertise On Demand (EOD) units will be accepted

Learning Objectives

After completing this course, learners should be able to:

  • Understand ICS/OT security history, today’s trends and threat landscape
  • Discuss ICS/OT standards and best practices: NIST SP800-82, IEC62443, MITRE ATT&CK for ICS framework
  • Describe the Purdue model of architecture, defense in depth, and secure ICS/OT network zoning and segmentation.
  • Understand the elements of effective ICS/OT security monitoring and incident response programs
  • See how a set of selected of useful ICS/OT security tools could be used. 

Who Should Take This Course

IT security professionals and ICS/OT engineers developing a ICS/OT security foundation. 

Prerequisites

Knowledge of ICS, DCS, SCADA, Modbus, OPC, IP address and IP packet. 

Technical Requirements

Recommended Windows 7 or higher to install Wireshark and NetworkMiner (free version). Students may use macOS if they can successfully install both Wireshark and NetworkMiner (free version). If not, we recommend installing Windows on a VM. 

Course Materials

Students will receive a lab book and access to all required class materials and tools.

Have questions?

If you have any additional questions, send us an email.

Thank you.